If roundball is your blood, this is the place to discuss the Flames as they move into the Ritchie McKay era for the 2nd time.

Moderators: jcmanson, Sly Fox, BuryYourDuke

By olldflame
Registration Days Posts
Has passed away at age 46.

So glad we honored him by admitting him to our HOF while he was still with us. Without a doubt one of the greatest ever to don the red, white and blue.
LUOrange, flameshaw liked this
By Veritas
I watched nearly every home game that Peter played in when I was an undergrad student. At some point during his time at LU, he also worked for me when I managed floor maintenance for the university. He was humble, diligent, and kind, in addition to being an exciting player to watch. Too short of a life.
LUOrange, flameshaw liked this
By Cider Jim
Registration Days Posts
Peter was the greatest shot blocker that I've ever seen in person. RIP.
Veritas, LUOrange liked this
By olldflame
Registration Days Posts
oldflame wrote: February 2nd, 2020, 10:03 pm 21 of 25 from the field
50 points
22 rebounds
12 blocked shots

Sound familiar?
Those were the numbers Peter put up against Charleston Southern, Towson and Campbell in the 94 BSC tournament as he led the Flames to their first NCAA bid, winning tourney MVP honors as a Freshman. I was there to see all of it, and it still may be the highlight of my Liberty fan experience.
Veritas, LUOrange, flameshaw liked this
By Veritas
That ‘97 team, though. Heartbreaking to see them not make it to the tournament. Back then, I thought of LU as a basketball school, with football as a sideshow (probably a reflection of my biases).
By flameshaw
Registration Days Posts
Without a doubt, Peter was the very best to ever put on a LU uniform. so sorry to hear of his passing. Loved Peter.
By WinthropEagleFan
Registration Days Posts
I was a freshman at Winthrop when Aluma was a senior...he was one of the first opposing players in the Big South that I watched that left an impression on me...
By LUOrange