If you are new to FlameFans, here is the forum to introduce yourself and learn the ropes of how this community operates. We'll also get you up to speed on the ground rules.

Moderators: jcmanson, Sly Fox, BuryYourDuke

By Rubicon
Just wanted to introduce myself before posting here. I'm not going to be super-prolific, but I have been lurking for a bit and do plan on posting some now and in the future.

I'm a Mormon, married for 21 years, and a father of three boys and a girl (ages 18, 16, 14, and 12. It's an even-numbered year . . . :wink: ). I've served twice as a bishop (local congregation, lay leadership), but have recently moved and am a regular congregant again. I graduated from BYU in 1999 in Secondary Education (English), and have certified in Biology, Middle School Science, and German along the way. While I taught public school English and science for 13 years, I have taught high school German for the last three, and that is the wave I am riding into retirement. It's a lot of fun, and I have a really good group of students every year. It's really not fair, compared to core subjects or even Spanish, because all of my students choose my class because they want to take it ---- and that makes a big difference.

We do a lot of things as a family. My oldest is a freshman at NAU (Northern Arizona University) and will apply to serve his mission as his freshman year draws to a close. I enjoy college sports (pro sports less and less), and am a voracious reader (everything, not really one genre).