Our Christian foundation is what makes our university unique. This is the place to bring prayer requests, discuss theological issues and how to become better Champions for Christ.

Moderators: jcmanson, Sly Fox, BuryYourDuke

By BJWilliams
Registration Days Posts
Hey guys,

I haven't really shared a lot of goings on in my life of late but I wanted to share something with you and solicit your prayers.

As you probably know, I grew up in the Hampton Roads area...Portsmouth to be specific. I have lived in that area for most of my life, with the exception of a few years in Lynchburg after I graduated with my undergraduate degree in 2009. Anyone that knows me knows that I am a HUGE sports fan...some might call it an addiction. ESPN has been my dream pretty much from the day I decided I wanted to be a sports broadcaster. I would listen to the local ESPN Radio affiliate almost exclusively on a daily basis.

Ive been a broadcaster for over a decade now (with somewhat of a hiatus recently to raise a family...I'll update that situation in another thread), and have been looking and praying for my next opportunity. Recently, I was made aware of an opportunity for a position at my hometown sports station. This isn't the first time this opportunity has been available to me, as it came open in early 2012 and I did not apply because I did not feel I had the confidence to take that step. Well when the opportunity became available this time, I did apply. I am asking for prayers during this process, and for favor from those that are part of the search process. I did get to know the previous person for this position as an avid listener of the show, and I also got to know another person at the station through some volunteer reporting I did for the local high school football show during the second half of the football season, so I am hoping that can help in addition to the new audio I had been recording throughout the past months.