This is the definitive place to discuss everything that makes life on & off campus so unique in Central Virginia.

Moderators: jcmanson, Sly Fox, BuryYourDuke

By Yacht Rock
Registration Days Posts
I love that LU allows and supports CCP but that was an idiotic statement and not befitting the leader of a Christian University.

I hope whoever the next president of the university is takes their role as a Christian leader more seriously.
By soccer7
Registration Days Posts
I agree with what he said just not how he said it. I can see how sensitive individuals that cry about everything would say this is hateful and intolerant message toward Muslims. However, it was not intended that way at all. My interpretation of his comments were that we could prevent radical Muslims that want to carry out attacks on innocent people by having guns on our person to protect ourselves and those around us. He was not referring to ALL Muslims. I am a teacher and work at a school that is made up of mostly military children. How should I feel about this situation? My concern is the area that I work in is a target for radical Muslims to attack. We have no way of protecting ourselves if something like this were to happen. Heck, even if it was a domestic issue we have no way of protecting ourselves. I can not imagine someone coming into our school with full tactical gear on and a go pro cameras shooting all the children I am there to help and to protect from harms way. I would love the ability to carry or at least have access to a safe with a gun in it in case something like this were to happen. I am sorry for the long rant, which could have been longer, but this is a very important yet sensitive matter we are discussing.
Last edited by soccer7 on December 5th, 2015, 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By ballah09
Registration Days Posts